It is expected that there will be a higher proportion of older people than that of young people in many countries in the future? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In many countries, it is forecast that the elderly will outnumber the young in the years to come. In my opinion, this expected situation would be detrimental as the economy and public health would suffer tremendously from a lack of young inhabitants.

A society having a higher percentage of senior citizens than young ones would have to face up to serious economic issues. Firstly, a preponderant number of people in their twilight years would put an enormous strain on the national pension scheme. The taxes contributed by the young working class would not be sufficient to cover the pension plan, exposing the older generations to the risk of losing this vital subsidy. Secondly, a shortage in the workforce is likely to happen. For example, there would be fewer people for the maintenance of electrical facilities as such work is not suitable for old workers. Consequently, factories would not be able to operate at their full capacities, hindering the overall economic growth.

Health issues related to a future population dominated by aged people are also a menace that should be taken into account. As for people in their pensionable ages, chances are public health services will fail to take care of them due to its lack of staff. The elderly would, therefore, be obliged to take out private health insurance, which only wealthy ones can afford, or to suffer from degenerative diseases all by themselves. Concerning the young, bearing a greater responsibility of sustaining the economy, they would run increasing risks of wearing themselves out, both physically and mentally, which would impair their living conditions, let alone their life expectancy.

In conclusion, it seems to me that in a possible future where the proportion of older people is superior to that of younger ones, society as a whole would have to face severe hardship.