Task 2: Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not local people. Why is this the case and what can be done to attract more local people to visit these places?

It is true that historical attractions and museums are by far the most popular sites with travellers rather than local residents. There are several reasons for this, and I think that governments need to take steps to attract more locals to visit these locations.

To begin with, there are a variety of reasons why these destinations attract mainly visitors instead of local people. First of all, travelling to new cultural and historical areas, tourists are likely to acquire knowledge and cultures from these regions. As a result, the vast majority of people tend to go to historical locations such as Ho Chi Minh museums which have numerous memories stuffs related to their historic nations. Secondly, because the layout of the museums has no change through many years, these attractions are less attractive to locals who might have visited at least once in their younger years.

Despite these arguments above, I believe that measures could be used by the governments to tackle this issue. One measure is that the governments should promote local people to visit these historical attractions through exhibiting historical stuffs in different ways. For example, it is more appealing if people are able to gain knowledge by observing visual image or listening to guided tours instead of reading books. Another measure is that the authorities should allocate national revenues to spend on these locations in order to enhance the quality of infrastructures and services. This is not only to bring more local inhabitants to visit museums but also preserve their region’s cultural heritage.

In conclusion, although several reasons are mentioned above, I think that various measures can be taken by the governments to mitigate with the problems.