Task 2: Many people now use written language in a less formal and more relaxed way than in the past. Why is this the case? Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

It is obvious that these days, formal written language has fallen by the wayside and become less necessary when compared to the past. While this tendency can be attributed to several factors, I firmly believe that its drawbacks outweigh the benefits.

There are at least two main reasons why fewer people are concentrating on formal written language. Firstly, the digital revolution has had a major influence. The rapid development of several social networking sites has promoted instant communication, in which people are likely to spend more time on text messaging or video calls when compared to letter-writing to communicate with others. These technological advances are usually used even when people are on the move, so it is compatible with conventional ways of writing. Secondly, with the growth of global markets and communication, more and more people are sending written messages without using their first languages. Thus, due to the lack of vocabulary in the second language, people cannot be expected to adhere to all rules for formal written etiquette.

Meanwhile, although this trend can provide some important advantages, I would argue they are outweighed by the disadvantages. On the one hand, having a laid-back attitude to the formalities of written language can help people save more time when communicating with each other. If this new custom is welcomed change, message texting can become faster and simpler. On the other hand, however, when formal expression is made obsolete, then it would become more challenging for several people to understand many formal things such as legal documents or coping with bureaucratic tasks. Furthermore, this problem can also shrink the range of vocabulary of individuals, consequently leading to the gradual disappearance of the diversity of languages from numerous parts of the world.

In conclusion, the lack of attention on formal writing can be ascribed to several factors. While in some situations it is clearly for the better, as far as I am concerned, the drawbacks still outweigh the benefits.