Task 2. Today, children and teenagers are committing more crimes. Why is this case? How should they be punished?

It is obvious that these days, the crime rate among youngsters and adolescents is dramatically increasing. While this tendency can be attributed to several reasons, different appropriate punishments should be implemented to tackle the problem,

There are two primary factors that can contribute to the rising crime rate among young people. In terms of social evils, nowadays, drug dealers have targeted educational institutions and entertainment centers, which involve the presence of most young people. As a result, drug trafficking has become ubiquitous in many industrialized areas, which develops a negative pattern of behaviors in the youth’s formative years and gradually increases the crime rate. From the commercial perspective, due to the rapid development of social networking sites, young people are likely to be swayed by several types of commercial advertising which involve the introduction of many harmful consumer products. Furthermore, giant corporations tend to focus on teenagers as their target audience to promote their goods. Consequently, they are persuaded to squander their saving on these products despite their inadequate affordability, which makes to turn to commit crime of passion unless they have enough money to purchase their desired goods.

Therefore, imposing several punishments on the young offenders is of paramount importance. One measure would be to put these youngsters on probation. Segregating offenders in a secured environment is one of the effective vindicatory sanctions to reduce the crime rate in the community. Moreover, the full weight of the law should act as a deterrent to attenuate drug trafficking and enhance security in educational institutions. Another potential solution is to combine confinement with education, which includes the provision of apprenticeship schemes and sport facilities to endow these youngsters with a second chance. Such policies are also a promising approach to help them easily make a fresh start after being released back to the community.

In conclusion, although some possible reasons for the growth of the crime rate can be identified, numerous steps can be effectively taken to mitigate the problems.