Task 2: More and more people no longer read newspapers or watch TV programs to get news. They get news about the world through the Internet. Is this a positive or negative development?

People used to get news through newspapers or TV programs but nowadays the Internet replaced them to become the most viral method. Although there are demerits, I believe that its benefits are more significant than these.

On the one hand, using the internet instead of newspapers and TV programs have some negative impact on the economy and society. First, the profit of businesses producing newspapers and TV remarkably decline due to this phenomenon. Hence, a lot of workers master in these fields lost their jobs, which raises the rate of unemployment and leads to the economic downturn. Second, news from the Internet is not qualified because every user can post news and the censorship does not play well. That will entail the sheer turbulence in the society when people affected by untrue news will have tremendous activities such as destroying public infrastructure and resulting in crises.

On the other hand, merits from getting news through the Internet can outweigh its negative effects. The first benefit is that people can access news more conveniently nowadays because they can surf the Internet at any time and place with only a phone while in the past, people needed to wait for the schedule of programs. Additionally, the news on the Internet is free whereas people used to pay for newspapers, which makes this trend more economical. The second one is behind reading news, people can also show off their attitudes and get more information in the comment area on the Internet. Thanks to that, the residents have more comprehensive knowledge about issues, which enhances the intellectual level.

In conclusion, updating through the internet is a positive trend as its advantages are more substantial.