Task 2: There have been many inventions in the human history, such as the wheel. Some people think the most important thing is the internet. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is a common belief that the internet is the most crucial invention in human history. However, I do not concur with this opinion because of some reasons.

Although the internet enhances people’s lives such as accessing information easily, chatting with others from a long distance, ..,it is not the most necessary thing among human inventions. If the invention has the most important impact on humans, they may become extinct without it. But before the internet was invented, ancient people survived and built society by other inventions, for example the electricity, television,… Therefore, the disappearance of the internet can not put humans in danger of extinction. Furthermore, there are more inventions that play a more important role than the internet. For instance, discovering the way of making fire helps our ancestors escape from dangerous wild animals at night and harsh weather in winter. So without it, the population may be as high as nowadays or human may not exist.

The other reason is that the internet brings not only benefits but also drawbacks to human. When the internet is established, people spend more and more time staring at smartphones or computers, which take them from physical activities, detrimental for their health because of the ultralight from modern devices and a sedentary lifestyle. Besides, it is evitable that online thieves can steal information accounts for illegal purposes. In reality, millions of dollars were stolen by hackers through the internet.

In conclusion, despite being helpful in human life, the internet should not be considered as the most important invention.