Task 2: Some people think that hard work and determination bring success. Others think other factors such as money and good appearance are more important. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

It is true that nowadays, hard work and effort play a crucial role for individuals to move up to a career ladder. Meanwhile, many people suppose that good financial background and a smart appearance are the most crucial. As far as I am concerned, the aforementioned factors possess equivalent importance for a successful career.

On the one hand, it is incontrovertible that determination to work is of paramount importance for a prosperous career. In terms of workplace pressure, these days, most jobs tend to impose heavy workloads on employers. Even some low-paid occupations including shop assistants, waiters, or order pickers, which offer minimum wage with limited job prospects, also demand dedication. From the family perspective, simply supporting a family also requires commitment and a lot of effort to maintain a close-knit family. Furthermore, parental involvement is also one of the rudimental factors to support children to enter adult life, as well as pursue a successful career.

On the other hand, money and smart appearance are indispensable parts for individuals to gain a competitive edge over other colleagues in the workplace. Firstly, without money, it is impossible to run your own business or develop relationships with influential people who can potentially offer you a good job prospect or help you to get ahead in life. Secondly, those who possess attractive appearances are likely to receive more attention from the interviewers when applying for a job, especially in marketing or international corporations, in which frequent communication and negotiation with customers are compulsory.

In conclusion, although people put forward several opinions about what are the most significant factors for a successful career, I believe that each aspect exhibits distinct impacts on the career of individuals.