Task 2: Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

It is incontrovertible that there are conflicting views about the benefits of hosting major international sport events. While there is a widespread belief that the host nation can receive several advantages from such activities, I also agree with the arguments that they may be also prone to numerous detrimental consequences.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that advocates of hosting international sport events can be advantaged in terms of health and economic prosperity. Firstly, a health awareness can be effectively promoted thanks to the public interest in reputable sport events, in which new world records may be set while a fierce competitive spirit is fostered. Moreover, sport coverage on TV programs also fires the imagination of youngsters in host countries, who are likely to be swayed by trending sport activities and emulate their national heroes. From an economical perspective, the influx of sports fans to the host nations also facilitates the development of many industries, especially tourism. For instance, 2014 World Cup has provided several opportunities for the Brazilian government to promote the construction of accommodations and tourist destinations for foreigners, which resultingly enhances the income of local authorities.

On the other hand, I also firmly concur that too much value has been placed on sport. Particularly, such international events are merely potential opportunities for hotels, restaurants, and businesses involving sport merchandising to maximize their profits, while other crucial parts such as education, healthcare service, and human welfare are fallen by the wayside. In other words, allocating resources to these activities means more indigent residents have to shoulder an ever-growing financial burden regarding accommodation and feedstocks themselves.

In conclusion, although hosting an international sport event can endow some benefits for some industries, I would argue that this can lead to several drawbacks for the individuals.