Task 2: Some people think that instead of preventing climate change, we need to
find a way to live with it. Do you agree or disagree?
Climate change is currently to be the most pressing problem for not only our mother Earth but
also for human lives. It is controversial whether people should put an end to climate change or
just get along with it. I am of the opinion that preventive measures are still crucial while people
try their best to start a harmonious living.
On the one hand, the destruction of the Earth is irreversible which is sufficient for environmental
recovery. Firstly, despite the hard-working of the scientists, they can not guarantee there will be a
second Earth for the civilization. Prevention should be considered a safe option for the worst
situation. Secondly, the cascading effects that the rapid increase of CO2 emissions has on us are
seeing no sign of alleviation. The government is in the progress of making a concerted effort but
the conditions of the heatwave, ice-melted, polluted air are far from getting better.
On the other hand, it can be argued that the Earth’s temperature can not be cooled down
immediately so people have to adjust their lives around it. I can firstly base my argument on the
relentless population size. More than seven billion people on this planet are still getting older,
getting married, and having kids one day, which will need more energy and this is inevitable.
Secondly, the luxury of human living is actually producing more discharge than they thought
they were. The more the economy grows, the more CO2 gases are released. The developed
countries have no intentions of stopping getting richer either the developing countries want to
stop their developments.
In conclusion, people should take seriously in protecting the environment while they have the
chance as well as come to terms with the notorious environment nowadays.