Task 2: Today, some families are not eating meals together on a daily basis. Why? Is this a positive or negative trend?

It is true that these days, many families are no longer spending regular time having a meal together. While this tendency can be attributed to several factors, I firmly believe that it can lead to several disadvantageous consequences for the family members.

There are two primary reasons to explain why having mealtimes together is disappearing among several households. Firstly, due to the socio-economic change, conventional family arrangements have witnessed a significant modification. For example, urban dwellers tend to form single-parent households or dual-income families, in which both parents have to allocate most of their time in the workplace to earn a living. In these circumstances, traditional family gathering, in which members from different generations can sit together to have mealtimes, is becoming impossible. Secondly, the change in lifestyles among youngsters also potentially contributes to the lacking of mealtimes with their family members. The development of social networking sites has generated a new pattern of behavior among young people, in which they waste countless hours gluing on the computer screens and prefer simply a quick snack to spoil their appetite, instead of allocating their free time to their parents.

I would argue that such developing customs can exert numerous detrimental impacts on individuals. From a health-related perspective, holding laid-back attitudes towards regular mealtimes with families means an adequate healthy and balanced diet is impossible to achieve. Furthermore, those who lack home-cooked foods tend to have junk foods or unhygienic ready meals, which may cause several health problems for consumers, including obesity. In terms of mutual interaction, this tendency can also lead to the disappearance of close-knit families, in which daily communication and bonding activities between family members are promoted. As a result, parental involvement will fall by the wayside, which also plays an indispensable part to shape children’s personalities before entering adult life.

In conclusion, while gradual disappearance of family mealtimes can be ascribed to several reasons, I argue that this developing custom can cause many drawbacks to the individual’s lifestyle.