The tendency of human being to copy one another is shown in the popularity of fashion clothes and consumer goods. To what extent do you agree?

There is an ample evidence, being collected since ancient times, which shows that human species have a tendency to copy each other, whether it is choice of clothes or equipment. There are various reasons for doing so.

The most important reason is that it gives a feeling of belonging to the same peer group. For example- college students getting same hairstyles, wearing torn jeans, getting themselves pierced. Its makes us secure and we do not stand out of the crowd. This spares us from unnecessary attention. This can be taken as an extension of the instinct which animals in groups followed to save themselves from becoming food of the predators. In this case, spare ourselves from becoming target of jokes from opposite sex.

Moreover, it is human tendency to be jealous of others. For example, it can be observed that if a neighbor has bought a new car, people would have sleepless nights until they also possess the same make even if they cannot afford it. The car is bought not because they need it, but to show that they are par with families living next doors financially.

However, there is a section of the society who do not follow or copy anyone. They are the one who are the trendsetters of any fashion. They are known as leaders and people follow them, e.g. Elvis Presley, who introduced the fashion of wearing bell bottoms. He did not follow anyone , in fact, because of him bell bottoms became a rage and a mandatory fashion clothing during sixties.

Thus, to conclude, I am of the opinion that we should not copy or follow any trend or fashion blindfoldedly. We should always be aware whether it suits us or can we afford it. This awareness helps us to create our own individualistic personality.