The tendency of human being to copy one another is shown in the popularity of fashion clothes and consumer goods. To what extent do you agree?
Today when we walk into public places or travel around the world, we will notice
that most people look quite similar in both behaviour and physical appearances. It
would appear that one thing steers us to be more alike and in this trend, visual
aspects of our life, like things items we wear or consume are more tangible.
It seems that this specific human behaviour has been hard-wired in their neuron
systems and it is a biological mechanism. With by mimicking others people’s facial
expressions or speech patterns, we develop a sense of similarity and increase
social interaction which are means for surviving. As weakly small creatures,
human beings had to live in flocks and the secret of being accepted was similarity
and accompanying. Evidently, in this process, those who have more talent to copy
others survived and nowadays it is an inseparable part of our social behaviour.
Moreover, imitating others usually occurs in emotional displays, facial expressions
and body gestures, according to many psychologicaly researches,. thereforeby, it
would not be surprising if we find found it in fashions and people’s lifestyles. For
instance, when we revise our old photographs, we will see major changes in the
fashion design throughout these years and it would be hard to find someone
swimming against the current/tide. In fact, most of us try to act in conformity
with social expectations throughout our whole life, especially in superficial issues.
In conclusion, it is sensible to conclude that some social conducts are
evolutionally/evolutionarily prehistorical behaviour and in the meanwhile,
imitation has evolved more in the exhibition rather than other aspects of life,
even though we could find its footprints in exchanges of languages and accents.