There are many different types of music in the world today.

Why do we need

music?

Is the traditional music of a country more important than the

International music that is heard everywhere nowadays?

These days, music of different kinds is becoming increasingly popular. This essay will discuss some of the benefits music brings, and why I believe local music is far better then foreign songs.

There are several advantages music offer. Firstly, it helps to soothe the mind. People go through a lot of terrible things in life, as a result, they become anxious and depressed most of the times. However, when music is listened to at such times, it calms the nerve and reduces stress. Because of this, music is now being used therapeutically to calm mentally unstable patients in psychiatry centres. Secondly, it serves as a means of communication among people. The lyrics and sound tracks of songs carry messages which can be easily understood by the listener. Lovers, for example, share their emotion between each other using romantic songs. In addition, music can be a tool used for preaching peace among nations at war. A vivid example is the 'Earth Song' by Michael Jackson, sang to address the destruction of lives and properties.

Traditional music has a lot of merits over international songs. To begin with, they can be easily understood by the Locals. Local songs are tailored to be in line with the social and cultural way of life of the people, therefore, they find it so easy to comprehend the message it carries. For instance, most of these songs are sang in their own native dialect, thus, it eliminates any form of difficulty in comprehending. Moreover, since these songs are in accordance with the exact condition of the people, they meet their needs more specifically then international songs.

In conclusion, although music is now very popular, I believe local songs are more beneficial to the citizens of a country then foreign songs.