There are severe social consequences of housing shortages in cities and only the government can solve these problems To what extent do you agree or disagree

People hold different conflicting views about whether the lack of accommodation should be solved only by the authorities or not. While a number of people believe that it can also be tackled by other factors, I would argue that it can be better if the solution for housing shortage is offered by the government.

There are several compelling reasons why only the government can best deal with this issue. Firstly, it has a direct influence on economic growth because homeless people tend to have difficulty in getting jobs. For example, enterprises do not want to hire homeless people, so these people, to survive, they have to become criminals, robbers and it brings a detrimental impact to society and resident's lives. It is obvious that this abundant workforce can be utilized extremely well; however, there is no company that wants to employ them. Thus, it can result in the lack of workforce shortage and foreign investment. Secondly, in my opinion, the majority reason comes from the aging population. Nursing homes are being established more and more to serve the requirement of retirement; therefore, there is not enough housing area for people who are in working age.

Therefore, I firmly hold the view that this issue should be tackled only by the government. It can be explained that while residents can spend their money to purchase houses for the underprivileged and homeless people, some deep problems such as aging population and criminals still remain unchanged. From my perspective, people should get to the root of the matter, so the authorities who are experts in the labor market can step in to solve it the most suitably. For instance, in some developed countries where housing policy is pretty tight, houses are reasonably priced, so almost all citizens can afford to purchase their accommodation. Several solutions such as tax adjustment, increasing retirement age or attracting foreign workforce,.... can be adopted to address this problem and political leaders are the most suitable people to control it properly.

In conclusion, while many people think that individuals and some organizations can deal with housing shortage, I still believe that the best method should be offered by the government.