There is certainly a difference in thoughts, ideas, and actions between children, their parents, and grandparents. Why do these differences exist? Does it cause problems in your community, in your opinion?

In a rapidly developing world, the differences in opinion, attitude, and lifestyle of children from those of parents and grandparents are obvious. This can be due to several reasons ranging from the emergence of new technologies to the influence of western cultures. This leads to various problems such as a lack of inter-generation communication.

Emerging technologies such as smartphones, mobile applications, laptops, and video games create a cultural gap between two generations. While the parents prefer personal one-on-one interaction, children use Facebook and Twitter to communicate with friends. The gap is further increased by the spread of western ideas in developing countries. This is evident in the food habits of children, who prefer burgers and junk food, and parents who prefer homemade traditional food. For instance, recent research in India claimed that western cultural influence spread through international brands such as Levis, McDonald's, KFC, and Facebook has decreased the time children spend with parents in 2017 by at least 35 percent as compared to 1990. This has tremendously increased the differences in thoughts, ideas, and actions between the two generations.

These cultural differences result in a lack of communication between two generations which leads to improper guidance for youth on one hand and loss of cultural identity on the other. Social scientists have proved that if children and parents do not spend sufficient time eating food and discussing ideas, events, history, and culture, a community will forget its culture within five generations.

In conclusion, the differences in ideas and attitudes of children and parents are natural. However, these may seriously hamper the development of a society and lead to a loss of identity. The differences should be bridged by encouraging the parents and children to spend more time with each other.