There is certainly a difference in thoughts, ideas and actions between children, their parents and

grandparents. Why do these differences exist? Does it cause problems in your community, in your

opinion?

In a rapidly developing world, the differences in opinion, attitude and lifestyle of children from those

of parents and grandparents is obvious. This can be due to several reasons ranging from the invention

of new technologies to the influence of western cultures. From my personal standpoint, differences in

viewpoints do leads to various problems such as lack of intergenerational communication.

Emerging technologies such as smartphones, mobile applications, laptops and video games create

a cultural gap between two generations. While the parents prefer personal one-on-one interaction,

children use Facebook and Twitter to communicate with friends. The gap is further increased by the

spread of western ideas in developing countries. This is evident in the difference in the food habits of

parents and their children. The former prefers traditional homemade food, whereas the latter prefers

burgers and junk food. A recent survey conducted in India claimed that western cultural influence

spread through international brands such as Levi’s, McDonald's, KFC and Facebook and had decreased

the time children spent with parents in 2019 by at least 35 per cent as compared to 1998. This has

tremendously increased the differences in thoughts, ideas and actions between the two generations.

Because the older generation is not always broad-minded, their stubborn beliefs lead the youth to

turn arrogant and clumsy. These cultural differences result in a lack of communication between two generations which leads to improper guidance for youth on one hand and loss of cultural identity on the other. Social Scientists have proved that if children and parents do not spend sufficient time eating food and discussing ideas, events, history and culture, a community will forget its culture within five generations.

In conclusion, the differences in ideas and attitude of children and parents are natural. However, these

may seriously affect the development of a society and lead to a loss of identity. The differences should

be bridged by encouraging the parents and children to spend more time with each other, and I believe

that the COVID-19 pandemic has paved a way to strengthen family bonds.