There is a growing recognition that young individuals tend to be impacted by same-aged people. I believe that the merits from the phenomenon would overshadow its drawbacks.

There are two major pitfalls originated from the implication that young people have on each other. The first issue is that by acknowledging the success of other peers, young people may feel inferior to their counterparts. This leads to the lack of confidence among the young and makes them feel difficult to socialize. Their social lives suffer as a result. An additional downsize is that, the impacts of extrinsic factors tend to more severe on young people, whose psychological development is still incomplete. This prevents them from achieving their personal goals and even quitting their on-going deeds which holds the key for their later feat in life. Thus, peer pressure takes its toll on the natural growth of youngster, which not only impairs their socialbility but discourages them from obtaining their objectives.

Apart from negative outcomes, peer pressure may act as a driving force for the self-development of many young people. The first merit from the phenomenon is that youngsters may immitate their more successful friends' pattern of behaviors which implies the success of one later in life. Secondly, given over-confident attitudes of young individuals, they would be encouraged to bridge the gap with their friends while their flourishment. More importantly, peer pressure often goes hand in hand with competition, the element plays a crucial role in any developed community, which motivates ones to work hard, and become more well-rounded individuals. The success of certain young individuals exerts positive influences on people at their age, which provides the ordinary with encouragement, role models and competion.

In the light of these facts, I concur with the view that the advantage of peer pressure is weightier than its disadvantages. the pressure from same-aged people is one of main precursors to the progession of ones in life, albeit there are some minor pitfalls affecting their life.