Some countries achieve international success by building specialized facilities to train top athletes instead of providing sports facilities that everyone can use. Is it a positive or negative development?

The global success of some countries in sports can attribute to facilites harnessed to train famed sport players rather than public facilites for amateur users. This essay will elaborate on both side of the notion and explain why the role of sport equipment for everyone overshadows the position of investment for professtional players.

On the one hand, investment in for renowned sport players will enhance performance of individual sport professionals. The focus of resources for few standout athletes not only helps avoids unnecessarily scattering of capital for sport players but helps athletes pay attetion to enhance their performance. Additionally, by investing in one or two types of sport that nations have their edge on countries are able to reap various financial and cultural benefits. The success of Karate in Japan is a prime example. While the popularity of the sport enables the country to export coaching, training services to other nations, global Karate enthusiasts also admire and cherish Japanese culture which fosters the soft power of the sport’s motherland.

On the other hand, allocation in supplying equipment for the mass benefits the well-being of general population. It is not uncommon that public sport facilities become the mecca for local citizens who want to improve their phisiology or socialize with their neighbors. This helps raise the bar for the public health and weave the fabric of society, giving the local a sense of communal life. Another merit of equipping public sport facilities is that it stimulates public spending, sowing the seed for the development of economy. From economic perspective, the investment in purchase and maintenace of the facilities would require prodigious expenditure which creates employment opportunites and generate income for sport equipment manufacturers and service providers.

In sum, while specialized sport facilites converges the use of resources and popularizes national cuture, public sport equipment improves the well-fare of people and the economy. The position of public equipment in the long-term would be more beneficial for nations.