There has been a dramatic growth in the number of people studying at universities in the last few decades. While some people see this as a positive trend which raises the general level of education within the community, others fear that it is lowering the

As the literacy rate is improving throughout the world, the number of students aiming to complete higher education are increasing. Many commentators are of the view that society reap the benefits if its population is highly educated; however, some argue that this trend adversely affects the education from qualitative perspective. Although there are many perks of having a pool of highly qualified idividuals; however, it is worth noting that it may have some drawbacks as well.

From an overall perspective, there are two key advantages of having an increased number of highly educated people. Perhaps the main advantage of university graduates is that the particular country has adequate supply of skilled labour locally which is not only cost efficient but it also saves unnecessary efforts in sourcing the workforce from overseas. For instance, Saudi Arabia spends billion dollars every year to recruit workers from foreign countries due to scarcity of qualified citizens. Furthermore, tertiary education offer several benefits on an individual level as university educated employees are well paid and enjoy a better wuality of life.

Despite these arguments, there are also various disadvantages of dramatic increase in the head count of graduates. Firstly, if a state's economy is going through a period of recession, there will be no vacancy in the job market to accomodate these people: further exacerbating the unemployment rate. Secondly, it may create imbalance in the job market as there will be an absence of workers to perform blue collar jobs.

To sum up, although having highly qualified population have several positive aspects but there is a dire need to control the number of students as it may create imbalance in society overall.