These days, the gap between the rich and the poor is steadily increasing, thus affecting negatively the lives of millions. Why is this happening? What can be done to reduce it?

In recent years, the wealth devide has been becoming increasingly significant and has become a disservice in poor people’s lives. I believe that knowledge imbalance and taxation play a pivotal role in this issue. As such, corresponding measures should be formulated by governments to tackle this ongoing problem.

First of all, it is an indisputable fact that education is the key factor leading to a successful career as well as having a high income. However, poor people clearly have less access to a great educational system in comparison to their rich peers. As a result, if there is no improvement on the poor’s knowledge, the gap will become wider. Furthermore, there is an inequality of taxation policy that is being imposed on the poor by some governments. This is because most politicians are the rich, therefore, they issue bills or policies beneficial for them. As such, this irony makes the rich get richer and impoverish the poor.

Fortunately, there are several solutions which could be devised by governments to narrow this pace. Firstly, authorities should adjust their country’s educational policy by establishing national education funds and providing subsidies to poor students. This plan assure that the students from poor backgrounds could have an equal access to every level of education, thereby improving their lives. Secondly, countries’ tax policy should be reformed. On the one hand, governments should raise taxes levied on products that are usually consumed by the wealthy such as jewelry or luxurious car. At the same time, the taxes imposed on basic necessities such as energy or food should be reduced to decrease the financial burden to the poor.

By way of conclusion, I reaffirm my position that knowledge imbalance and tax inequality are two main factors causing the growing gap between the rich and the poor. Consequently, governments should have some reformations on educational and tax policy to address it.