Living in big cities is bad for people’s health. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that urban life has a negative impact on inhabitant’s health. Yet, there remains some disagreement as to whether this statement is well-founded. While there are certainly valid arguments to the contrary, I completely concur with this proposition due to the hazards of existing environment and traffic problems of big cities to people’s well-being.

First of all, it is an indisputable fact that air quality plays a pivotal role in people’s health. However, this element is becoming worse in most of the metropolises all over the globe due to industrial production and traffic activities. Every day, the inhabitant of big cities inhale a big amount of carbon dioxide emissions and atmospheric pollutants released by industrial factories and vehicles. As a result, there is an increasing number of people living in metropolises having respiratory diseases and lung cancer.

Equally importantly, noise pollution in urbans is also another considerable threat to people’s health. People living in big cities have to daily undergo a variety types of noise ranging from the noise of vehicles, construction activities to the roar of diesel engines, which can cause them tired, easily irritable, and will lead to mental diseases in the long run.

On the contrary with popular consensus that urban inhabitants have a better health care systems than their peers in countrysides due to modern infrastructure. A lot of metropolises in the world, developing countries in particular, are struggling with serious traffic jam, this poses a lot of difficulties and takes much time for emergency patient, which should be done speedily. In Ho Chi Minh City, for example, the scene of ambulances stuck in traffic congestion during peak hours is normal in this 13 milion-inhabitant metropolis.

By way of conclusion, I reaffirm my position that urban life imperils people’s health because of its air and noise pollution as well as the impediment of traffic jam to emergency patient process.