Many elderly people are no longer looked after by their families but are put in care homes or nursing homes. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Today, there is an increasing number of young people intending to send their ageing parents to nursing homes due to the huge physical benefits that the old can receive from them. However, there remains some drawbacks that the young should consider before placing their loved ones in there.

On the one hand, it is an indisputable fact that nursing homes are well equipped and provide professional health care. Their personnel are qualified in the field of geriatrics and know how to deal with the needs of the elderly as well as reacting appropriately in case of any emergency. Besides professional care, retirement homes also have proper and modern facilities to ensure timely administration of medicines and record is also kept for future treatment.

On the other hand, staying with their own family can greatly benefit elders in ways that nursing homes can hardly do. By living near family members, elders will be less likely to experience loneliness and isolation, common reasons for depression and other mental diseases. On the contrary to popular consensus, due to higher standard of life and progress in medicine, older people in these days are much stronger and still able to shoulder responsibilities for their family in various ways such as playing with their grandchildren or taking care of bonsai trees. Therefore, keeping the elderly in their family would allow them to live optimistically and get rid of their thought that they are a burden to their children.

By way of conclusion, as mentioned above, nowadays many elderly people are able to remain healthy and active, they should be given the chances to participate in family and social activities. Only when their health becomes a serious problem, a nursing home should be taken into consideration.