These days, in many countries, fewer and fewer people want to become teachers, particularly in secondary schools. What are the reasons for this, and how could the problem be solved?

Teaching has always been one of the most respectable professions in the world. However, nowadays a lower number of adults prefer a career in school education especially working with teenagers. This essay will examine the main causes of the problem and possible solutions to it.

I am convinced that the two main reasons for the low attractiveness of the occupation are low income and high workload. Teachers’ pay is not comparable with other popular professions such as programmers, lawyers or doctors. This can be one of the main reasons why graduates prefer other specializations to ponder instead of applying for pedagogical faculty. For instance, statistics show a significant decrease in the interest and demand for educational degrees. The second cause, which is the volume of work, can play an even more significant role in the unpopularity of this job. Long working hours, both on and off school hours can provoke a burnout effect which has a negative effect on health and quality of life. For example, my best friend’s mom who has spent decades teaching the schoolers usually finished her working day almost at midnight after extra tutoring and homework checking.

I am inclined to think that some of the possible solutions to this problem are governmental support and official regulations of the endeavour. Since academic work is so dignified in the society, the authority has to intervene in this matter and suggest public subsidies to patronage the teachers. Hence, only government attention is able to restore the desirability of the job. In addition, the volume of teaching should be regulated as well. Not only time at school should be considered as official working hours but the duration of the mentoring as well.

To conclude, these days pedagogy is under pressure since insufficient salaries and high burden. However, with the substantial sponsorship from the administration side, the prestige of being a teacher can be recovered.