To what extent

Many people believe that university students should study a full range of subjects, instead of some specific subjects.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this viewpoint?

Universities have always played a significant role in shaping a well-educated society. Considerable part of the population reckons that academic students should learn a comprehensive range of study fields rather than a limited number of disciplines. Although I agree with the positive aspects of learning wide range of subjects, I have reasons to disagree with this perspective.

From one point of view, people should learn a broad spectrum of disciplines in order to obtain a wide outlook. Nowadays to be a professional is not enough to be a great leader. Through broadmindedness multiplied by knowledge ONLY, a person can be a motivational manager enhancing subordinates. Increasing number of programmes in business schools related to culture reaffirms the idea of the importance of lateral thinking. For instance, during the last year all russian business schools established the faculty of art to educate the business community in this field. Thus, I consider that providing a full range of subjects DEMONSTRATES positive features for the students.

From another point of view, students enter University to get a specific specialization which should be the main focus throughout their studying time. They need to concentrate on specific subjects which are relevant to their future career. There is no necessity to be disturbed with something they do not benefit in the long run. Looking for a job after graduation, students’ relevant abilities and knowledge will be crucial factors for success. For example, statistics show that 95% of headhunters pay attention to the professional background only losing sight of hobbies and personal interest. Therefore, Universities should prioritize specific subjects for the curriculum, otherwise irrelevant topics will be an obstacle for the students to apply for the jobs.

To conclude, though we can not deny the benefits of studying a wide variety of areas, I personally believe that the aim of Universities should be in providing specialized knowledge to their pupils which are relevant to their career in the future.