These days many countries provide free university education for all citizens, even though the cost of doing this is very high. What are the main benefits of free university education and are there any drawbacks ?

Give reasons for your answer and include examples from your own knowledge and experience.

The free university education for all citizens is provided by many countries in today. There are a number of beneficial reasons why each country provides like this while some drawbacks should also be considered. In this essay both benefits and drawbacks will be examined.

There are a various advantages of providing free education for all citizens. First of all, everyone would have a chance to enter to university no matter which social status they are grouped in. As a consequent, poor people who have a high skilled can learn the lesson which in the future, they might help to develop the countries. Furthermore, it can help to increase job opportunities since most of the companies need graduated people to work with. One clear example is, in Thailand, many public company recruited their staffs by scanning resume especially on education level before interviewing. Lastly, there would be a decrease of crime which result from there will be less gap between high and low status as most of the citizens have higher level of education including how to spend their lives preciously.

Providing free education in university can also be argued against in several ways. A major disadvantage would be the increase in amount of tax rates because government has to spend high cost for support free education. For example, even though there is a free entering to university, tax rates went up to more than 50% which not fair for wealthy people to spend it for government. Finally job competition in the country would be occurred. For instance, in Thailand, many first jobber started their own business because they think that the income can be gain faster than being an employee. As a result, everyone going in same direction which lead to market competitive.

In conclusion, even though supporting free university education has many positive aspects, I believe the problems that affect to all levels of citizens should also be improved. If government focus only how to offer free of charge in study, wealthy people could be in trouble.