These days, more and more people are going to other countries for significant periods of time, either to find a job or to study. There are clearly many benefits to doing this but people who live abroad can also face some difficulties.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages.

Recently, finding an occupation or studying in a foreign country for a certain period of time has become a controversial trend which often divides opinions. Some people contend that it is beneficial to do so whilst the others object the idea by listing some drawbacks they may encounter. This tendency, indeed, bring both positive and negative effects on human life.

First of all, it is indisputably true that living abroad can benefit people one way or another. Take job experience for example, workers who spent a year or so overseas will surely have those valuable experiences that employers favorably seek for. In addition, exchanged students can apparently get better qualification for future job or at least get a chance to immerse themselves in an alien culture which somehow broadens their horizons.

In stark contrast, however, overseas people unfortunately get to deal with some downsides of this issue namely the language barrier and culture shock of they do not have effective adaptation skill. For instance, international students whose majors are not language will find it hard to cope with the native language and the misunderstandings caused by language may become their daily headache. Beside language barrier, cultural differences are, in fact, a detrimental issue for those who live in other nations. The Asian is a prominent example of this, as coming to America or Europe, they properly be justified by their skin color or culinary style which is considered inappropriate in those cosmopolitan cities.

By way of conclusion, living abroad obviously has its own upsides and downsides regarding experience, language and culture. For better or worse, it depends on the way we adjust ourselves to get on with the new living environment.