These days, older people who have retired often choose to spend money on themselves (for example on holidays) rather than save money for their children. Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, senior retirees frequently opt to invest money on trips, rather than saving money for their children. Personally, I would assert that this issue leads to more disadvantageous aspects for some plausible reasons which I will explicate in the elucidate paragraph.

First, the demerits of allocating retirement-related money on holiday can lead to conflict and emotional estrangement within familial relationships, primarily due to loss of the inheritance wealth to pass down to their offspring. Consequently, certain family members might perceive themselves as neglected and undervalued. Moreover, their children’s futures would be impacted if elders were unable to pay for their future career opportunities due to significant financial challenges in pursuing it. Take American young adults as examples, talented children aspiring to enroll in universities stumble on paying for tuition fees.

On the other hand, this issue renders several merits which oldsters can allocate money for medical care, including regular health check-ups and physical therapy can manage health conditions. Seemingly, access to high-quality medical services spend an amount of dollars to ensure timely and necessary care. As seen in Denmark, a large part of the pension is spent by retirees to purchase more health insurance and increased services so that they can reach private healthcare. In addition, renovating their own homes helps elderly individuals to stay comfortably in them. This is crucial for enhancing accessibility, especially for those with limited mobility. For example, seniors can install safety-enhancing gadgets (CCTV) and stairlifts to access the upper floors without any risks.

Overall, despite this view carrying out a number of merits at some points, I would contradict that focusing on personal expenditures brings more unfavourable drawbacks ranging from family disputes to inadequate financial expenditures for children.