These days people in some countries are living in a “throw away” society which means people use things in a short time then throw them away. Causes and problems?

“Throw away” lifestyle nowadays is present in many modern consumer societies, especially in developed nations. There are various reasons why this phenomenon happens and it can lead to several negative impacts.

When it comes to the reasons for this tendency, two of them are outstanding. Firstly, our living standard is getting better and better due to worldwide economic growth. That means individual incomes are increasing day by day, causing the decrease in the sense of saving. Consumers are now willing to get rid of their old stuff and purchasing new things. Another reason is that the advertising industry is growing rapidly and stronger than ever before. A large number of products and services are advertised everywhere, properly targeting the consumer psychology. Adverts have the power to encourage people to buy goods or services that they do not really need by making them feel that an item could improve self-image, confidence and even social status. For instance, teenagers today can spend nearly 40 million VND buying Iphone to show that they are wealthy and fashionable even though their old phones are still in good conditions.

Individuals living in a “throw away” society may suffer from several issues. Environmental degradation is one of the biggest problems. Due to excessive production of disposable goods, huge amount of hazardous waste are being released into the environment, directly contaminating soil and water. Another severe consequence is that young generations might be negatively affected. It will be increasing difficult to teach them about saving if they continuously live in a society that every citizen lead a throw away lifestyle.

In conclusion, there are several factors causing a throw away society in some nations and this behavior can bring about considerable problems.