Today family members eat fewer meals together.

Why is this?

Is this a positive or negative trend?

In recent years, it has become less common for families to eat meals together. In my opinion, this is related to developments outside the home and is a positive trend overall.

There is now a great variety of public activities. In the past, families traditionally ate dinner together because it was rare to go out to restaurants and events. Today, individuals can eat at cheap or expensive restaurants, attend concerts, go to public parks, and meet a wider circle of acquaintances due to the rise of social media. For instance, it is common to notice an event while scrolling through social media, such as a gallery opening or a sports match, and make plans with friends quickly through a group chat. The prevalence and accessibility of such events explains why family meals are now uncommon.

This phenomenon is negative for families but positive for society overall. Reduced time with one’s family can lead to psychological problems as a person must feel loved by family members to maximize healthy growth. One method of achieving this unconditional sense of security is through family meals. However, there are other ways for a family to be close and the opening up of society beyond the household is a massive boon for individuals. People who were stuck at home and bored now have a variety of entertainment options and live overall more fulfilling and richer lives. For example, a person who often goes to concerts will likely make friends from various backgrounds and form lasting memories with them.

In conclusion, family meals are less common because of developments in society generally and it is positive on the whole given the freedom the average person now possesses. Nonetheless, it is still important to balance time with family and friends.