Today, the high sales o f popular consumer goods reflect the power o f advertising and not the real needs o f the society in which they are sold.

To what extent do you agree or disagree!

With substantial uses of advertisements, plenty of brands have caught the attention of the public, and benefitted significantly from it without doubt. There is a prevailing view that the popularity of these products doesn’t represent what the society really needs but merely the advertisement’s influence. I strongly disagree with this view.

The high sales of these goods won’t be possible to exist only with numerous advertisements if they can’t satisfy public needs. In other words, it’s not likely for customers to spend money on useless products even though their advertisements are attractive. This might boost the sales in short run by strongly advertising, but it wouldn’t be persistent after customers realize that these products can’t fulfill daily needs.

In addition, powerful advertising needs to be combined with excellent product in order to generate soaring revenue. If a firm never markets its products and people don’t even know these goods, how could it be possible to achieve high sales, even though these products can effectively satisfy real needs of the society. Therefore, advertising helps gain the popularity and used goods make it possible to persist the sales, leading to a great performance of selling for the long term.

In a word, I believe popularity of consumer goods is hard to be obtained without taking advantage of the power of advertising as well as focusing on the product itself.