Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation.

Why might this be the case?

What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

Pursuing careers in a large corporation or organization used to be favored by numerous employees, while there is a growing trend that more and more people choose to be self-employed.

From my perspective, one of several reasons proponents of self-employment argue is that it tends to provide a person with a much more satisfactory working environment in contrast with being employed by a large firm. For example, working at a company might bring people tremendous pressure from either peers or the boss, whereas no one would scold you under self-employment. Furthermore, many firms might require employees to work very late even though much work is unnecessary for a day, which significantly influence people’s person life negatively.

Besides better working environment brought by self-employment, freedom of choice is also a huge advantage. Unlike in a firm, people wouldn’t be assigned an insipid work by their managers. Instead, you can determine whatever fields you are willing to work in, leading to stronger motivation as well as positive attitude.

There is certainly no denying, however, that plenty of drawbacks of this mode of work exist. Income earned by self-employment won’t be as stable as what you obtain in a corporation, which might be a concern that need to be concerned. Due to the nature of this mode, it’s inevitable for owners to bear losses individually, resulting in a higher risk, while salaries in a firm are undoubtedly more regular. On the other hand, onerous workload needs to be taken into consideration when deciding on future career. As you are the leader and no longer coping with others, you take the whole responsibility in running the business to some extent, which indicates the burden might be several times more than before. Accompanied with that, tremendous pressure needs to be tackled.

In summary, there are both sides of self-employment and lots of factors such as pressure and volatile income need be carefully considered.