Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In current society, advertisements are made by distinctive companies to attract the interest and the curiosity of consumers to purchase numerous goods which is not the real demand of consumers. I completely concur with this statement and in this essay I will give my own perspective.

To begin with, a plethora of big organizations or companies often create special offers on a regular basis which is prevalent not only in shops, but also in different social media platforms with distinctive methods including vouchers or discounts in order to stimulate the interest of consumers purchasing their products and seduce a huge number of sponsors into investing because people now tend to purchase stuffs online. A typical example for this is Shoppee which is an online shopping application utilized by many Vietnamese people. It often creates super promotions on 7 July, 8 August and so on, which appeals to the consumer to purchase stuff with the half or cheaper price, compared to the initial price even though they actually do not have any specific purpose to buy it. As a result, The number of products sold brings a large source of revenue which contributes to the development of the social economy.

In another case, there are some people who buy the stuff through the advertisement not because of the promotion or the colorful and vivid designs, but they purchase it due to its essential role in daily life. Take the shampoo as a typical instance, shampoo is a familiar thing with people which is used to clean the hair and the whole body almost everyday and it is divided into many types in order to be appropriate with individual's skin. so if there is no advertisement of shampoo, people will not know the suitable shampoo with themselves

In conclusion, advertisement is a power tool for brands to spread their products but it does not meet all the real demand of consumers. Our real need is more vital than other factors