Today it is common practice for many business meetings and business training to take place online. Do you advantages of new development outweigh the disadvantages?

As a result of the advancement of technology, online business meetings and training have become commonplace. However, the issue of whether this trend is advantageous rather than disadvantageous or not is still vigorously discussed. From my perspective, both proponents and opponents of this development have reasonable arguments which should be taken into careful consideration. In this essay, I will elaborate on both views before giving my outlook.

On the one hand, detractors often cite the job-related quality to justify their protest against the popularity of computer-based business meetings and training. It is undeniable that the extent of the efficiency of these meetings and training greatly depends on the quality of used technological gadgets. That these online meetings and vocational training may be fraught with technological problems can give rise to a reduction in business productivity. For example, if participants do not have high-quality devices like a crystal-clear camera or good sound system, they will not be able to comprehend what their co-workers are discussing and raise their voices.

However, advocates of this trend claim that this problem can be solved owing to the flexibility created by internet-based conferences and job training. Since most of the workers nowadays possess necessary equipment like a computer, a mobile phone, and a microphone at their residence, online professional conferences and training can be held whenever the technology-related issues are already tackled. Moreover, online business meetings and training can help participants reduce their commuting time and budget allocation for transportation. Statistics have shown that the average commute time for a US worker is 1 hour and 38 minutes per day and the average cost per month is $160 which means the workers in the US are paying the equivalent of 21% of their mortgage to commute to work. Thus, if businesses take advantage of online meetings and training, their employees can save more time and money for their recreation.

On balance, I agree that though business meetings and training taking place online can meet some technological problems, they can be handled and therefore are dominated by the advantages of these conferences and training.