Today large shopping center and supermarkets are more common than small local shops Is this a negative or positive development

With increasing modernization, large shopping centers and supermarkets have seen a tremendous growth in past few years. The most probable reason for this development is the convenience factor of people.

Nowadays, people consider comfort over price. Although, the prices at supermarkets are higher than the those at local shops, people chose to visit shopping centers rather than local shops. The very first reason for it is the availability of plethora of variety under one roof. It saves lots of efforts making a life easier. For example, being a working couple, people prefer to visit to nearest shopping complexes to buy monthly ration and supplements saving time for other house chores and enjoyment. The second reason that can be considered for visiting supermarkets is the quality product available there. Almost all the branded products whether it be national or international can be readily purchased from these places. It exceeds the local shops in terms of luxury and quality.

Despite the fact that supermarkets have made our life more comfortable and easy, it has equally affected the markets for local shops. Many local talents are getting outnumbered even after having a great quality. The life of people that depend on these local shops for their livelihood are getting affected by these gaps. These are the people who cant afford to have shops as big as a supermarket hence at the end they choose to work under such places and shut down their shops.

To sum up the things, I would just conclude by saying that the growth of supermarkets and large shopping centers can be considered as a positive factor of development as it is the need of hour to get into international markets which is very well fulfilled by such superstores. Still, can the demotivation of local vendors be considered good?