Today, many young people spend too much of their free time at shopping malls. This can considered negative for young people and society generally. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is a current issue that a lot of youngsters allocating their spare time for shopping malls, which has a negative impact not only for the youth but also for the whole society. From my perspective, I partly agree with this view of point. Therefore, I will demonstrate my reasons behind in the scope of the essay.

However, this trend could bring some bright sides for the economy. Obviously, the large expenditure for shopping from the youth could provide more motivation for the suppliers to produce more goods and services meeting the needs of the customers. Therefore, the suppliers would gain more profit thanks to the excess spending from youngsters.

However, taking more advantage of the free time to go shopping means that less time for studying to gain knowledge or working to earn money, which will affect negatively the spender and the society in the broaden level. Indeed, when there are increasing number of youngsters spending too much their relaxed time to purchasing goods based on their preferences instead of saving money or working to earn more, it would make them face with financial difficulty to meet their basic needs in the future. For example, there are many young people are willing to spend a lot of time to search for high-end products in shopping malls in order to show their wealth, leading to having trouble in their expenditure for the necessities. From the social viewpoint, this would cause the problem in the long run if the modern youngsters just prefer to waste their time in shopping activities which could not add more value for the communities.

In conclusion, although using the free time for excess spending on shopping could have some positive aspects regarding the economy, it brings more drawbacks for the youngsters as well as the communities. It is better if the youth limit their time spent for shopping and just go shopping at a moderate level.