Some people believe that violent media directly results in violent behavior. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued by some people that behaviors which have attribute of violence are the consequence of directly-exposure to violent media. In my opinion, I partly agree with this point of view for some following reasons in this essay.

On the one hand, watching violent movies or playing video games related to fighting will affect people’s mental health. Indeed, when people exposure to films related to violent content with the high frequency, it is likely that their mental health would be affected by those scenes, and they might imitate it in their real world, resulting even the worst case which is having bad behavior with other people. Taking a real and famous case of Le Van Luyen as an example, he was caught to prison due to killing a family to gain money for playing violent game.

On the other hand, it is hardly to say that violent media is the root cause for violent behavior because it still exists another factors contributing to that negative behavior such as family background. Obviously, if a child lives in a house where he always has to watch his parents fighting or arguing, he might be negatively affected and easily to become a violent person in the future because of the fact that children easily imitate their parents’ behavior.

In conclusion, accessing to violent content via media has a negative impact on the users, leading to violent behavior. However, there are also another factors contributing to this consequence besides direct exposure to the violent media. Therefore, it is necessary for people to limit the time of watching or reading such content.