Today more and more cities are being rebuilt and redesigned in order to be modernized. What are advantages and disadvantages of this trend

In recent times, buildings have been altered and modified to modernize the cities. these transformation will modify the existing ancient look of the constructions but it would also provide additional facilities within them. This essay will examine the advantages and disadvantages of modernization and provide logical conclusion.

The two main advantages in modernization are the increase in the number of housing and addition of new facilities in buildings. Firstly, while redesigning buildings, more houses can be constructed to meet the growing demands of living spaces within the city limits. With more job availability prevailing in the cities, the increase in the number of houses can meet the needs of those who want to move closer to their workplace. Secondly, additional facilities can be included while rebuilding. Features such as lift, spaces for car park, safety measures can be added during the modification. In a recent study, it was found that fire accidents were lesser in houses that were newly constructed or modified with these facilities.

However, the modification will also include loss of many green areas in order increase the size of the buildings and the loss of the rich heritage of the place. In order to build bigger houses and commercial premises, trees are cut to increase the space thereby making the modernized cities a concrete jungle. The heritage and the stories associated with the place are also lost with these changes.

In conclusion, although modernization has disadvantages such as loss of heritage and green covers, the growing demands of industrialization and technology requires the buildings to be redesigned and built to suit the current needs.