Today parents spend little free time with their children. Why is it the case? Who are more affected: parents or children?

In this fast-paced modern life, the precious time between parents and their offspring has become scarcer and scarcer. Within the framework of this writing, an elaboration on the reasons leading to the matter will be provided before evaluating the influence that this phenomenon has.

To commence with, one major cause of the problem is modern technology. Admittedly, it draws the attention of both adults and children, indirectly taking away their family bonding time and interpersonal interactions. It can easily be found in a family’s living room that the fosterers together are watching television programs and gossiping about their day while their kids are hooked on smartphones and gaming consoles. Although technological devices offer profound overall merits to our daily life, it is undeniable that they are pushing flesh and blood relationships far away. Moreover, another root to this case may stem from the parents themselves, who are under pressure to earn every single penny to make ends meet. The ever-calling desire of catering for their babies makes them workaholics so that they lack time and care for those who should have been their top priorities.

The remaining part will discuss the issue’s impact on the two groups. It is difficult to gauge as both are affected in their own way. Children without sufficient guidance and supervision in their upbringing may eventually become spoiled young adults, indulging themselves in drugs and social crimes. However, their adaptation to childhood hardships can result in early independence and resilience. Parents tend to suffer from the feeling of guiltiness since they fail to fulfill their responsibilities, and arguments between spouses may usually occur when one is trying to blame the other. Therefore, middle-aged divorces have seen an upward trend these days, especially in dysfunctional families.

In a nutshell, advanced technology and money-making pressure are the main reasons for the aforementioned situation. As a consequence, both the young and the grown-up are equally influenced.