Topic: Today parents spend little free time with their children.

Why is this the case? Who are more affected: parents or children?

It is true that modern parents spend their time with their kids irregularly. This is largely down to parental work intensity that resulting in negative impact on children’s mental health.

As far as Iam concerned, in today’s world individuals have to stay late at work because many jobs require extra labour. Many aspects of jobs such as banks, accountants and sales require heavy workload, resulting in an increase in the working time. Furthermore, it is true that today parents are likely to spend their free time on their smartphone rather than with their kids. They want to keep pace with the times by surfing the web and reading online news. This discourage parents from dedicating attention to their children.

Looking at the drawbacks in perspective, lack parental attention leads to severe emotional distress and behavioral problems. In the past, children developed their skills by telling stories and engaging in playful banter with their parents. By contrast, modern children spend their time clinging to the TV screen from time to time and playing on their own, giving rise to the feeling of alienation and depression. This may result in severely negative behaviours such as illegal drug use. More seriously, this may badly shape those children personalities and perceptions of life when they enter adulthood. They are more prone to develope haphazardly which make them vulnerable in an increasingly demanding society.

In conclusion, children lacking parental care may lead to severely detrimental impact on them. Therefore, parents should allocate their time suitably to give best support to their kids in their journey to adulthood.