Today parents spend little free time with their children.

Why is it the case? Who are more affected: parents or children?

In the hustle and bustle world today, time intended for offspring from parents is more and more limited. This phenomenon can be ascribed to various culprits and from my personal perspective, both mentioned subjects are at risks.

The problem may be attributed to two main rationales. First and foremost, time deficiency is one of the most fundamental cause for parents spend little time with their kids. With the growing pressure in the modern labor market, the majority of people have to work overtime to improve productivity so as to achieve better position and higher salary in their job. Work in banking or accounting, for instance, usually entail heavy workloads which may not be dealt with during office hours. This has driven some parents to the edge of allocating less family time for more working hours. This is even a matter of great importance to employees that act as breadwinners, financial burdens have forced these parents to work harder to make ends meet. It is not to mention that parents also deal with a great deal of household chores, which results in accumulated fatigue after a long day. The second point that should be taken into consideration is that children’s hectic learning schedule spares little time for them to be involved in family interactions. It is lack of interactions in the long run that widen the generation gap between offspring and their parents, as a consequence, both sides would find it hard to have a conversation together.

Considering the long-term effect of this matter, it is my opinion that the situation may pose more negative influences on the young. Owing to the fact that children who are deficient in parental care may experience regular loneliness. In some cases, offspring are inclined to exhibit antisocial behaviour in order to draw parents’ attention, this can have a detrimental effect on their emotional development considering long period of time. Looking from the parents’ perspective, they may also have to deal with anxiety and depression because of not only the distance with their kids but also their kids’ inappropriate behaviours, hence, this may have a harmful impact on their work-life balance.

These are some of the fundamental reasons for why children and parents spend little time together nowadays and it is my opinion that children would be more disadvantageous in the given cases.