Today, TV channels provide men’s sport shows more than women’s sports shows. Why? Should TV channels give equal time for women’s sport and men’s sport?

Nowadays, television channels broadcast a more significant number of male sports programmes than female sports programmes. This essay will discuss the reasons for this trend and is giving equal time for both men and women sport shows reasonable.

One of the major reasons is that there is a range of sports that men can play but women cannot. This is basically because the two genders are biologically different. This difference helps men to have certain characteristics that women do not have or have but not comparable, namely pace and strength. In fact, the breast is considered as an organ that can cause problems to female athletes’ running ability. Many have taken surgery to cut or make their breasts smaller in order to run faster without feeling the pain in their chest. Therefore, due to the smaller amount of sports that women can play compared to men, it is easy to understand that more men’s sports are broadcasted than women’s sports.

On the other hand, providing the same amount of showtime for both men’s sports and women’s sports on TV channels is not recommended. This is because there would be lower view time, therefore, lower revenue coming from these shows. Most people prefer watching men’s sports to women’s sports because male athletes usually have a higher profession in their areas compared to women. For instance, a TV channel in Vietnam called FootballTV once tried to broadcast the same amount of showtime for men and women in an Asian Olympic. As a result, this led to a reduced amount of view time on the channel with only one-tenth of which belongs to women’s sport while the view time for men’s sports stayed the same.

In conclusion, the imbalance between the showtime of men and women sports spring from the larger number of sports that men can play and we should not have the same amount of time for both genders in sports TV channel because there would be a lower income for the TV commercial companies.