Today, TV channels provide men’s sport shows more than women’s sports shows. Why? Should TV channels give equal time for women’s sport and men’s sport?

It is true that there are fewer females’ sports shows than males’ sports programs shown on television. There are some reasons why this is the case and it is not necessarily that Television channels need to give equal time for both of these programs.

There are several reasons why fewer sports shows for women are produced compared to those of men. The foremost reason is that in practical, there is a wide range of sport activities for men taken place, which the television stations could film and present it on screens. For example, in Viet Nam, males’ football matches are held on a monthly basis in metropolises like Ho Chi Minh city. In fact, on account of their innate characteristics, men can participate on a variety of competition ranging from average sports such as swimming, football, tennis to extreme sports like sky_diving or bungee jumping. In addition, if men’s sport shows are broadcast on television, there will be a huge number of viewers watching them including females. This can be explained by the fact that in those games men players perform so brilliantly that they can appeal anyone regardless of his or her gender.

In my view, it is not necessary to increase much more time for women’s sport shows on TV channels. Instead, they should focus on other females’ programs such as fashion, cooking or family, which could make women become their loyal audience. Because of the gender difference, females pay more interests on these hobbies than sports, it does not means that the high number of females’ sport shows can meet their demand for entertaining. Indeed, there is a saying that quality is better than quantity. Other than that, men’s sport programs at the same attract women especially when male players appear in tournaments as heroes. Therefore, it seems to me that men’s sport shows could also cater for both male and female audiences.

In conclusion, there are some causes why men’s sport shows dominate on TV programs. Nevertheless, Television stations should not necessarily increase women’s sport shows.