Many people think that the media should show more stories which report good news. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals argue that journalists should inform more good news on the mass media instead of concentrating on providing bad information that may have negative impact on the readers. While I accept that this idea should be taken into account, I believe audience should also know other important news.

On the one hand, it is necessary to post more good stories on mass media including newspaper, radio, television and the Internet. Firstly, the fact that this modern world with many risks and dangers has gradually made human easily become upset and frustrated, and the busier lifestyle people involve with, the more calmness they possibly lost in their lives. Accordingly, I believe it would be better for people to frequently expose to good information rather than shock news so that their optimism can be nurtured and their confidence will be built. Moreover, one of the main responsibilities of any news agency is to educate people especially young individuals with the information provided. Hence, there should be more articles and columns focusing on positive contents and good role models in which the young generation can follow.

On the other hand, it is extremely important to warn citizens with negative information such as traffic accidents, natural disasters, plague, etc. The main reason is that there are many uncertainties around us and people should be equipped with effective ways to tackle in such circumstances. If those kinds of news are widely broadcasted on media, people can immediately take appropriate actions to solve the problem and authorities can also timely prepare emergency evacuation and provide aids when needed. For example, for years, thanks to the weather forecast on many means of media like radio programs or newspaper, citizens who are living in the central region of VietNam have been able to effectively deal with calamities like hurricane or flood, etc. Similarly, people can also know when they should take care of themselves to prevent from contracting diseases when there is an approaching epidemic affecting the community.

In conclusion, I believe that apart from increasing the amount of good news on media, it is vital for people to access to significant bad news so that individuals and governments can solve the problems efficiently.