Too much emphasis is placed on going to university for academic study. People should be encouraged to do vocational training, because there is a lack of qualified tradespeople such as electricians or plumbers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The debate between academic study versus vocational training has amplified during the last decade or so, where the trend has certainly shifted towards vocational training as the preferred choice amongst the modern youth.

In the past, parents have influenced the choice of education their offspring must follow, which was towards an academic stream. As a result there was an abundance of doctors, lawyers, accountants, etc, which was believed to be the best professions to be in. Parents having successfully educated their children to become doctors or lawyers was deemed an achievement and an elevation of social status in their community. Vocational training education at this point of time was deemed to be of a lower class of education, thus ignored.

However, with the change of dynamics towards vocational training education, academic training has somewhat taken a back-seat. There are more institutions providing high quality education involving vocational training in order to provide students with the highest possible skill of their field of choice. These state government funded institutions are becoming centre stage throughout the world as more and more youth are getting themselves enrolled in such courses.

I am in agreement of more people choosing vocational training education as this will cater to the deficit of skilled tradesmen such as professional tilers, painters, builders, etc. Traditionally these programmes involved on-site training from a professional and the students having to undergo a training or apprenticeship period in order to gain the required qualification. However, presently there are more and more of these courses being offered online with the ease of access and flexibility of acquiring such skills. This way, more people who aren’t keen academics have the opportunity to acquire a qualification which in in par with any academic qualification.

Similarly, academic study should remain for the individuals who have a passion in this field rather than being forced by parents or social pressure. We still need competent doctors and lawyers. Therefore, academics is also considered important and those who choose this field should be trained to become skilled in their chosen field of profession.

In conclusion, I believe even though more people should be encouraged to take up vocational training, academic training should be for those who seek greatness in such fields.