Too much emphasis is placed on going university for academic study People should be encouraged to do vocational training because there is a lack of qualified tradespeople such as electricians or plumbers To what extent do you agree or disagree

In the recent time, there is an upsurging trend of focusing more on university level education has been seen. Some people feel the need for that while others claim that skill training must be motivated as there is shortage of skill workers. In this essay I will discuss why university education is more preferred in comparison to professional training.

To begin with, going to universities for higher studies provides better job perspectives. Most of the collages make arrangements for campus job interviews and placements in the final year where students are eligible to get jobs in multinational companies based on their performances. Currently, the big four companies such as Google, Meta, Amazon and Tesla are mostly hiring from renowned institutions. Therefore, this level of assurance will boost students from early days.

Apart from excellent career opportunities, uplifting inner skills and talents is another moto of these institutions. This can be done by organizing youth and cultural festivals where they will learn about critical aspects such as planning, management and execution. All of these will prepare them for future higher management level positions .Research has shown that recent established entrepreneurs were once indulged in all sort of these kind of activities in their collage life. The more they are exposed to such environment, the more opportunities are waiting for them.

Despite the perks ,however, pertaining university education is not everyone’s cup of tea. Their fee structures and criteria are sometimes painful for many average students. On the other hand, there is much more variety of duration in vocational courses than in the conventionally academic world. For example, students in the UK can earn a Hair & Makeup Artistry diploma in 6 months, and budding chefs can gain a Professional Cookery diploma in just a year! A shorter course means that students are paying less fees. Broadly speaking, vocational courses take practical and hands-on approaches.

To conclude, there is no doubt in the fact that there is greater need of skilled workers but having university education can certainly give assurance about future life and offer wider variety of options