Topic 18/06/19: Many people disagree with a school policy which forces children to learn new languages. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that many school administrators have included mandatory subjects which focus on students’ language proficiency. Nevertheless, numerous parents and children oppose to this policy. Personally, I believe that languages should be incorporated in the curriculum, yet not forcefully taught.

In this day of globalization, languages have proven to be one of the most efficient tools for cross-cultural communication and superior job prospects. First of all, it has been easier than ever to travel worldwide and acquire understanding about other cultural values. Besides, foreign companies and investors are increasingly omnipresent in any countries, which open up unprecedented job opportunities for locals. For instance, Google or Microsoft have intercontinental branches that demand labor. Yet, without languages, individuals miss the chance to access global knowledge and to interact with those from different nations. Thus, schools merely realize this necessity to teach language modules that assist future employees.

However, it is absurd to consider languages as compulsory subjects. Since language is an aspect of arts, not every student possesses linguistic gifts. Therefore, forcing children to learn what they have no interest in will probably lead to boredom and frustration. Additionally, the number of languages to choose from is overwhelming for children whose career orientations are not yet determined, resulting in uninformed decisions. Hence, it is suggested that languages remain an optional, yet recommended subjects in the syllabus. For example, many education institutions in the UK offer art-related modules such as painting or singing as non-mandatory. Students can select based on the preferences, career plans and family background by which they will likely to discover their own talents.

In conclusion, while linguistic competence is a worthwhile skill to obtain, it is more important that learners have rights of freedom to decide if they want to immerse in learning a new language and educators should act as a source of support, respect and advice for young people rather than restrict their choices.