Topic 27/6/19: Science finds that by studying the behavior of three-year-old children they can predict if they will grow up to be criminals. To what extent is criminality related to human nature? Is it possible to stop children from being a criminal when they grow up?

It is true that some people can behave disturbingly from an early age. However, in my opinion, not only human nature but upbringing plays a key role in enforcing criminality. Besides, it is not impossible to stop children from committing crimes in their developmental stage.

On the one hand, some young individuals are just born criminals. For instance, some scientists who study the brain of prior offenders, realize that there is a part of these criminals’ brain actively inclined towards violence. This means there is hardly any way to prevent them from juvenile delinquency. Nevertheless, should three-year-olds’ behaviors be researched, it is not guaranteed that criminality can be predicted and avoided since these babies have not reached their full cognitive potential. Thus, I believe that some other youngsters commit felony because of their upbringing and surrounding. This can be attributed to their neglectful or abusive parents or even some traumatic experiences which distort their world views.

On the other hand, there are some actions for educators to help their children stay on the right track in their formative years. Firstly, parents need to create a supportive and comfortable environment which involves educating children social norms and respecting their decisions. For instance, if the caregivers notice any problematic behaviors from their offspring, it is imperative that they clarify to the children what is right and wrong. Additionally, teachers ought to observe and take precautions against strangers that approach their students to protect them from troubles.

To sum up, both nature and nurture are the sources of criminality. However, it requires the cooperative actions of both parents and teachers to make sure that their children grow up to be law-abiding citizens.