Topic 22/6/19: Government should invest in teaching science subjects rather than other subjects in order for a country to develop and progress. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people believe that if the authority use all national budgets for teaching science subjects, their country will undergo greater development. Though it is undeniable that science does wonders for the world, I refute the idea that all students should forcefully study this subject at school.

There is no doubt that science goes hand in hand with technological and medical advances. Firstly, the scientists have invented various automatic machines to assist or even replace the manual labor in factories, which renders the manufacture process more productive. Besides, a wide variety of medicines and clinical devices has been innovated to provide higher healthcare services for patients thanks to science. For instance, during the outbreak of the novel Corona virus, Vietnamese researchers managed to create the virus kit detecting infection. Therefore, should students study science, they will probably be able to make immense contribution to their national economy and wellbeing.

Nevertheless, I have reservations that making science a compulsory module in the curriculum will definitely bring out national progress. To begin with, it is well acknowledged that there are multiple intelligences and each individual will have their own strengths and weaknesses. For example, some people would be visually, bodily or musically gifted which is more suitable for arts or sports majors rather than science. Even if they followed the science-related career path, without passion or talent, they would only be defeated by more academic individuals. Moreover, as the job market demands diverse occupations such as educators, police officers and farmers, forcing all children to learn science will merely result in an imbalanced dystopian where every person is a so-called scientist or technician.

While scientific achievements are impressive and valuable worldwide, it is unrealistic for the government to invest in a science-oriented education system. Science should remain an optional subject for interested students with clear job prospects to pursue.