Topic 13/4/19: In many countries, people like to eat a wider variety of food that can be grown in their local area. As a result, much of the food people eat today has to come from other regions. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh disadvantages?

It is increasingly common to see food being transported from one area to another to meet the locals’ insatiable appetite. I believe that this trend is almost unavoidable and it has equal benefits and drawbacks.

When crops cannot be grown in a region simply due to the weather or soil, they will certainly be imported. Since the area responsible for export is encouraged to plant and harvest, its production and agricultural advances can be easily boosted. For example, Da Lat, a city in Vietnam, is renowned for their cultivation of cold-climate fruits such as strawberries. Thanks to this, their local economy has progressed to a great extent which contributes to the national development. Furthermore, it is undeniable that trading could foster good terms among regions. This partnership might even turn into friendship and benefit both parties in the long run.

However, there are some notable disadvantages of consuming products that do not originate from the local crops. Firstly, over-reliance on another area’s food provision can lead to an increase in the price of the products and the taxes levied on import. This transaction is likely to be unaffordable resulting in unsuccessful trades and dissatisfaction from consumers. Besides, the recipients most of the time have no control over the cultivation and packaging process or the use of fertilizers. To illustrate, if a poor region with sanitation regulations possesses monopoly over a plant, other regions will have no alternatives, but suffer from unhygienic products. Consequently, the quality and safety of the products cannot be ensured by the receivers.

In conclusion, it is mostly beneficial for some areas to resort to others for food production. However, there are still some drawbacks worth serious consideration to ensure a fair and safe trading process.