Topic 27/6/19: Science finds that by studying the behavior of three-year-old children they can predict if they will grow up to be criminals. To what extent is criminality related to human nature? Is it possible to stop children from being a criminal when they grow up?

It is true that some people can behave disturbingly from an early age. However, from my perspective, there are more causes of criminality than sole human nature and it is not impossible to stop children from committing crimes in their developmental process.

On the one hand, some young individuals are just born criminals indeed. Some scientists who study the brain of prior offenders, realize that there is a part of these criminals’ brain actively inclined towards violence. This means there is hardly any way to prevent them from juvenile delinquency. Nevertheless, should three-year-olds’ behaviors be researched, it is not guaranteed that criminality can be predicted and avoided since these babies have not reached their full cognitive potential. Thus, I believe that the reason some other youngsters committing felony is because of their upbringing and surrounding. This can be attributed to their neglectful or abusive parents or even some traumatic experiences which distort their world views.

On the other hand, there are some actions for educators to help their children stay on the right track. Firstly, both parents and teachers need to create a supportive and comfortable environment which involves educating children social norms and respecting their decisions. Besides, if the caregivers notice any problematic behaviors from their offspring, it is imperative that they clarify to the children what is right and wrong. Finally, children themselves ought to take precautions against strangers and criminals to make sure they do not get tangled in troubles.

To sum up, both nature and nurture are the causes for criminality. However, it requires the cooperative actions of parents, teachers and the children themselves to create more law-abiding young citizens.